Contact Us



Membership in the Salt Spring Island Historical Society gives you the opportunity to support the preservation of Salt Spring Island’s rich history.

Annual membership is $15 per year beginning in September. The membership year is September to May (excluding Dec).

At 2pm on the second Wednesday of each month we offer a presentation featuring a variety of historical topics. Many of the presenters are descendants of Salt Spring pioneers themselves keenly interested in preserving Salt Spring’s rich history. These presentations are supported by a sound system and audio visual display.

Also available is a subscription to

British Columbia History
Journal of the British Columbia Historical Federation

Published Quarterly

Subscription = $20 per year

Add this Journal to your Historical Society Membership and receive four journals that enhance your knowledge of British Columbia’s history and provide reading enjoyment.

Board of Directors
Position Name phone email
President Bob McWhirter (250) 537-2194

Duncan Hepburn

(250) 653-4949
Treasurer Duncan Hepburn (250) 653-4949
Membership Susan Good (250) 537-2916

Don Cunningham

(250) 537-2893

Director Ross VanWinckel (250) 537-5962
Director Roberta Starke (250) 653-2375
Programmes - Publicity Bob McWhirter (250) 537-2194

Barb DuMoulin

(250) 537-1338
Archives Gillian Watson (250) 537-1805
Website Coordinator Frank Neumann (250) 537-5021


  Honourary Lifetime Members  
  Agnes Cunningham  
  Bob McWhirter  
  Duncan Hepburn  
  Mary Davidson  
  Tony Farr  
  Ivan Mouat  
  Sue Mouat  
  Frank Neumann  
  Mort Stratton  
  Peggy Tolson  
  Tom Wright  

Constitution of the Historical Society(pdf)

Incorporation Document

Contact Us
2010 Salt Spring Island Historical Society. All rights reserved.